The Boone County Basketball Hall of Fame is proud to announce that one of our four $500 graduate basketball scholarship recipients for the 2019-2020 school year is Benjamin Weidner of Zionsville Community High School. Ben will be attending DePauw University in Greencastle, Indiana this fall majoring in Economics.

Ben has been a three-year varsity basketball player, two-year starting guard and Team Captain for the 2019-2020 season. While on the team, they were two-time Hoosier Crossroads Conference Champions and two-time IHSAA Sectional Champs. Ben received the Naismith High School Courage Award and was a four-time Eagle Scholar with a 3.7 cumulative GPA…selected as a member off the National Honor Society. He also was a member of the Men’s Varsity Soccer Team playing midfield position. The soccer team was Hoosier Cup Champion, Hoosier Crossroads Conference Champion and IHSAA 3A State Champion with Ben himself being an Allstate All-American.

Additionally, Ben is well-rounded by performing as a member of the Royalaires and Chamber Choir playing a role in the one ensemble that was awarded Grand Champion at three nationally accredited competitions and first runner-up in the 2018 competitive season. His leadership skills are exemplary serving on the Student Council, Student Athletic Leaders, Peer Facilitator, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Zionsville’s ‘Strong in Every Way’ Program, and the IHSAA Leadership Conference. Ben also volunteers in the community and in Indianapolis as well as holding down a part-time job at a high-end local restaurant.

Boone County Basketball Hall of Fame’s Mission is to recognize, honor, promote and preserve the history of Boone County basketball AND to provide annual scholarships to Boone County graduating basketball athletes. Due to our growing membership and donations, we are able to give a total of four scholarships this year from a very competitive field having received ten applications. Two of our other three scholarship winners have been announced. When all four receive their scholarships, an announcement of all four will be made. To join our group as a member for $20 per year or donate to the scholarship fund, please contact our Treasurer, Dick Threlkeld at 765-894-0300 or

Again, congratulations to Ben Weidner of Zionsville!

Please follow and like us: